Turkish Voiceover


Turkish Voiceover


Shop   Donate   Members   Advisors   Alumni



Phi Theta Kappa Appoints Four to Honors Program Council

Jackson, MS – Dr. Blake Ellis, Professor Cassandra Powell, Dr. Patty Hall and Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner have been appointed to Phi Theta Kappa's Honors Program Council. They will serve four-year terms on the council, effective July 1, 2016.

The new appointees will serve in the following positions on the Honors Program Council:

Humanities Representative: Dr. Blake Ellis, Lone Star College-CyFair, Texas – Discipline: History

Social Sciences/Communications Representative: Cassandra Powell, Richard J. Daley College, Illinois – Discipline: Linguistics/Communications

Technical/Workforce Representative: Dr. Patty Hall, Cañada College, California – Discipline: Child Development

Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner – President and CEO, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Each advisor representative has previously served as a Phi Theta Kappa Faculty Scholar.

According to Susan Edwards, Phi Theta Kappa's Dean of Academic Affairs and Honors Programs, new council members will serve through the 2020 Honors Institute and will visit the Center for Excellence this summer for the 2016 Honors Program Council meeting, when they will assist in assessing the Society’s honors programming and developing the 2018/2019 and 2020/2021 Honors Study Topics.

The Honors Program Council also publishes the Honors Program Guide, a resource for exploring Honors in Action, and assists in planning the Society's Faculty Scholar Conference and Honors Institute, a week-long summer conference focusing on the Honors Study Topic.

Other members of the Honors Program Council include Edwards, Monika Byrd, Dean of Leadership Development, Phi Theta Kappa; Jennifer Stanford, Chief Student Engagement Officer, Phi Theta Kappa; Dr. Joan Fedor, Honors Consultant, Sun City West, Arizona; Lara Roemer, Service Learning Representative, Carl Sandburg College, Galesburg, Illinois; Glenn Rohlfing, Collaborative Learning Representative, Pikes Peak Community College, Colorado Springs, Colorado; Christine Solomon, STEM Representative, Trident Technical College, Charleston, South Carolina; Dr. Melissa Fulgham, Leadership Development Representative; Northeast Texas Community College, Mt. Pleasant, Texas; and Dr. Johannah Williams, STEM Representative, Hinds Community College, Raymond, Mississippi.

Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society recognizing students pursuing two-year degrees. Phi Theta Kappa is made up of more than 3 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

Comments are closed.

Media Inquiries

Direct all inquiries to our
Marketing & Communications Department
601.984.3504, ext. 5533