Turkish Voiceover


Turkish Voiceover


Shop   Donate   Members   Advisors   Alumni



Two Faculty Advisors Receive $10,000 in Professional Development Stipends

Jackson, Mississippi –Steven Jess Fritts, Lead Instructor of American Sign Language at Ozarks Technical Community College in Springfield, Missouri, has received Phi Theta Kappa’s 2016 Marshall Award, which carries a stipend of $5,000 for personal leadership development. Dr. Joy E. Moses-Hall, Instructor of Physics, Astronomy and Earth Science at Pitt Community College in Greenville, North Carolina, received the 2016 Mosal Award, also receiving a stipend of $5,000 for personal professional development.

The awards were presented during Phi Theta Kappa's annual convention in National Harbor, Maryland, April 7-9. Each scholar received a commemorative medallion in addition to the funds to complete their proposed projects.

The Jo Marshall Leadership Award (Marshall Award) is named in honor of Somerset Community College President Dr. Jo Marshall of Kentucky. She previously served as long-time advisor to the Pi Pi Chapter in Alabama and as Alabama Regional Coordinator. In addition to serving as a Leadership Development Certification Program Facilitator, Dr. Marshall is also Chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation Board of Trustees.

The Marshall Award was created to encourage the professional growth of Phi Theta Kappa advisors by providing a $5,000 stipend for the completion of a project that leads to personal leadership growth beyond the completion of professional degrees.

Fritts received the Marshall Award for his proposal, “Yes, And…The Second City Leadership Approach: Developing Practical Leadership Skill Through Improvisation,” in which he will advance his improvisational skills in order to further develop the practical application in the field of leadership by participating in intensive training at The Second City in Chicago, Illinois. He will implement his new skills by developing workshops that utilize Phi Theta Kappa’s Leadership Development Program curriculum.  

Mosal Awards, named for the Society's late Executive Director Emeritus, Dr. Margaret Mosal, are presented to faculty advisors with at least five years of service who have submitted project proposals.
Only outstanding, well-reasoned and intellectually substantive proposals are selected by a panel of scholars for funding.

Moses-Hall was selected as a Mosal Scholar for her proposal “The Motherland Project,” in which she will write a terragraphy of a large part of North America by researching the geology of the main physiographic provinces of the continent, visiting notable geologic sites, harvesting parallel stories of life, land and lineage, and codifying and publishing her work as a nonfiction book.

Phi Theta Kappa is the oldest, largest and most prestigious honor society recognizing students pursuing two-year degrees. Phi Theta Kappa is made up of more than 3 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.

Comments are closed.

Media Inquiries

Direct all inquiries to our
Marketing & Communications Department
601.984.3504, ext. 5533